The World of Louis XVI
In the Attic, Jacques-Ange Gabriel created an apartment for Louis XV as well as a series of quarters for the lords of his suite. This apartment, composed of an antechamber, a bedchamber and a corner cabinet, was naturally assigned to Louis XVI who, nevertheless, never slept there. Therefore, it was probably the King’s sister, Madame Elisabeth, who occupied this apartment.
The rooms after the King’s apartment evoke the females who lived at Petit Trianon. The rooms devoted to Madame Elisabeth and Madame Royale, daughter of Louis XVI, are furnished in part with furniture from Trianon. The cabinet and bedchamber of Empress Marie-Louise, re-used by the Duchess of Orleans, as well as her boudoir, were actually on the noble floor, where the memory of Queen Marie-Antoinette was favoured. The objects that furnished these areas in the 19th century were therefore transferred to the attic.
The King’s Antechamber
This room has a woodwork decor from 1768 and a chimney made of reused sarancolin marble, placed by architect Ange-Jacques Gabriel at Trianon, in all likelihood coming from Madame de Pompadour’s mansion in Paris, currently the Elysée Palace.
The King’s Bedchamber
The chamber is decorated with panelling and wall coverings made of crimson lampas from Lyon. A chimney made of griotte marble and gilded bronzes placed in 1836, from the private apartments of Marie-Antoinette at the palace of Versailles, dominates the room.
This is the only room refurnished for Louis XVI in 1777, as the King kept his grandfather’s furniture in the rest of the apartment. The chimney is made of sarancolin marble.
The Women’s Rooms
Madame Elisabeth’s Small Living Room
This former bedchamber, decorated with a grey veined marble chimney, is devoted to Madame Elisabeth, sister of Louis XVI. In this room and the next one, the wall coverings reproduce Jouy tapestry workshop prints from the 1780s, recalling those commissioned by the Furniture Keeper of the Queen.
Madame Royale’s Small Living Room
This former bedchamber, with simply moulded woodwork and stone chimney painted in false grey marble, is devoted to Marie-Therese-Charlotte, known as “Madame Royale”, daughter of Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette, who lived on the Attic floor. The wall coverings were also inspired by Jouy tapestry workshop prints.
The Dressing Room of Empress Marie-Louise
The former apartment of Marie-Antoinette on the first floor was briefly occupied in the 19th century by Pauline Borghese then by Empress Marie-Louise and lastly by the Duchess of Orleans. The furniture provided for Empress Marie-Louise was preserved for the most part by the Duchess of Orleans to which she added comfortable chairs and small pieces of furniture made of rosewood inlaid with holly, according to the precepts of the new style. In the dressing room, the restored yellow damask had replaced in 1837 the “green background and medallion” Jouy print delivered in 1811.
Bedchamber of Empress Marie-Louise
The chairs created by Marcion were commissioned for Empress Marie-Louise and recovered for the Duchess of Orleans with blue silk purl adorned with a “blue, yellow and wood” edging, restored in 2008, during the major restoration campaign. The chimney is made of composite campan marble.
Boudoir of the Duchess of Orleans
The chairs, arranged at the French Pavilion under the Empire, were recovered for the Duchess of Orleans with a green lampas, restored in 2006. The chimney is made of grey and pink marble.
Empress Eugénie Room
In 1867 Empress Eugenie (1826-1920) decided that furniture and objects from the time of Marie-Antoinette would be displayed at Petit Trianon during the World Fair in Paris. This room recalls the wish of the empress who made this palace a museum dedicated to the last Queen of the Ancien Regime. The printed wall covering is a reproduction of a fabric used at Trianon in the 19th century.